Battle appointed to Jefferson County Judicial Commission

26 lawyers have applied for open Jefferson County circuit judgeship

Kent Faulk | By Kent Faulk | The Birmingham News
Email the author | Follow on Twitter
on February 12, 2015 at 4:18 PM

Twenty-six Birmingham-area lawyers have submitted their names for the nomination to fill the job opening left by the recent retirement of Jefferson County Circuit Judge Caryl Privett.

The Jefferson County Judicial Commission set a deadline of Wednesday for lawyers to submit their names to be considered for a nomination. The commission will receive public comments regarding the 26 applicants until 4 p.m. Feb. 25.

The commission currently made up of a judge, two attorneys, and a lay person, will meet with candidates before selecting three names to submit to Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley, who then has 90 days to choose one nominee to replace Privett.

Those who have applied are:

Gail L. Andrews; Harry J. Blalock; John L. Bodie; Lea R. Bone; Charles Boohaker; Thomas W. Bowron II; Michael Capleone; Perryn G. Carroll; Brian Cash; Lee Cleveland; Christy Glidewell; Vincent J. (VJ) Graffeo; Brian Kilgore; Benjamin T. Larkin; Jim McFerrin; Cynthianther “CL” May;  Carla Morton-Sample; Russ Parker; Bentley Patrick; Javon Patton; Brady F. Rigdon; Wayne Rogers. Joshua C. Snable; Ted Strong; Peyton Thetford; and Everett Wess.

To submit comments to the commission about the applicants email:

Jefferson County Circuit Court Judge Tommy Nail –

LaVeeda Battle –

Bruce F. Rogers

Kevin Walsh

© 2015 All rights reserved.